The Habitat Plan was prepared by six local agencies (also known as Local Partners).

  • City of Gilroy
  • City of Morgan Hill
  • City of San José
  • County of Santa Clara
  • Santa Clara Valley Water District
  • Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority

In developing the Habitat Plan, these Local Partners worked with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) and the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW), the two agencies responsible for applicable state and federal laws pertaining to endangered species. (USFWS and CDFW are collectively referred to as the Wildlife Agencies.) There was also a 10-year stakeholder and public outreach process during Habitat Plan development.

The Habitat Plan is administered by the Habitat Agency, a local entity created and governed by the Local Partners. Among the Habitat Agency’s duties are monitoring and reporting on the implementation of the Habitat Plan to the Wildlife Agencies. Collectively, the Local Partners and the Habitat Agency are referred to as Co-Permittees